State Allowed NSF Fees

For check payments that are returned for lack of funds the below amounts reference the maximum a merchant can charge for recovery by state.

Recovery costs are paid by the check writer. Check writers agree to pay these check recovery fees when check payments are accepted by merchants who have appropriately provided notice of such fees (at the point-of-sale, in the language of any agreement, or electronically)

Alabama $30 Montana $30
Alaska $25 Nebraska $30
Arizona $25 Nevada $25
Arkansas $25 New Hampshire $25
California $25 New Jersey $30
Colorado $20 New Mexico $30
Connecticut $20 New York $20
Delaware $40 North Carolina $25
District Of Columbia $15 North Dakota $25
Florida $25 Ohio $30
Georgia $30 Oklahoma $25
Hawaii $20 Oregon $25
Idaho $20 Pennsylvania $25
Illinois $25 Puerto Rico $25
Indiana $20 Rhode Island $25
Iowa $30 South Carolina $30
Kansas $30 South Dakota $30
Kentucky $50 Tennessee $20
Louisiana $25 Texas $30
Maine $30 Utah $20
Maryland $35 Vermont $25
Massachusettes $30 Virginia $35
Michigan $25 Washington $40
Minnesota $30 West Virginia $25
Mississippi $30 Wisconsin $25
Missouri $25 Wyoming $30

*This information should be independently verified by merchants to coincide with the laws and statutes governing each respective state.